top of page

Portugal - Saudade

Atualizado: 29 de mar. de 2021

An emotion which represents a nostalgic longing for a person or thing that was loved once, but is now lost, and expresses the love that remains long after someone or something is gone and may not return.


Even though the word saudade is never said in this piece, there is an inherit feeling of longing, sadness and powerful shared comotion that very much characterises this word. And no better way to express it than through Fado, which to me carries the weight of saudade and its centrality to portuguese culture like nothing else.


She says in the chorus something along these lines:

Oh people of my land,

Now I finally understand,

This melancholy that I carry with me,

I inherited it from you.


Click on the picture below to hear this fantastic performance by Mariza:

By Inês Correia


4 visualizações0 comentário

Posts recentes

Ver tudo
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page